Small Bathroom Problem solving

Teeny powder roomSo in my [new] place, there’s a teensy, tiny little half bathroom off the laundry room. Currently it only houses a toilet because…well…it’s really only big enough for one. Unfortunately there is no room on either side of the powder room to expand either due to the fact that one wall is exterior and the second wall is the stairwell to the basement. I don’t mind the fact that it’s so small necessarily, but I DO mind the fact that it has no sink. That just seems weird…and unsanitary.

So…tonight I ran across a post over at Apartment Therapy about Space Saving sinks and was surprised at some of the interesting options out there. There’s this tiny Block Washbasin by Lacava. It’s really cute, but too expensive at $800+. This tiny corner one by Porcher is also really cool, but I’m not sure if I have a corner in the new house. It’s $325. Much more affordable, but still more than I was hoping for. And lastly, this wacky one that fits on the back of the toilet is super space saving (and water saving too!), but isn’t very aesthetically pleasing. I don’t like the fact that it’s made of plastic and automatically comes on everytime you flush the toilet. Watch the video of how it works here. What do you think? Too weird? Get one of the more expensive sinks….assuming it would actually fit? Or just forego the sink altogether and hope people use the kitchen sink instead?

8 thoughts on “Small Bathroom Problem solving

  1. The wacky one is interesting. I have never seen anything like that before. That space sure is a challenge.

    I don’t think a corner style will fit anywhere. You don’t have a suitable corner.

    I would look for the smallest wall mount sink you can find. make sure you can return it. Try in on the wall where the tp holder is. You want to see if you can open the door and also be able to navigate past it to get to the toilet.

    If the left side is the interior wall you might be able to squeak a couple more inches if you open up the wall and build a niche between the studs. It would require some creativity on the stairwell side. If you are lucky and things line up right you may be able to do it. If a niche would work opposite of the tp holder it would be worthwhile to change the door to hinge opposite of where it is now.

    Good luck

  2. Thanks Handyguys!! You really ARE handy!! I’m going to be posting a LOT more about the new house and projects going on there…so make sure to keep checking back and giving advice! šŸ™‚

  3. Can you work out some kind of plumbing solution where a water stream falls from the ceiling directly into the toilet? Then you just need a couple faucets on the walls. That would interesting when you have first-time guests. “Look, you simply stand up, flush the toilet, turn on the water and it comes from that water spout in the ceiling 8 feet above the toilet and runs directly into it. Do NOT turn on the water while sitting on the fixture.”

    My wife thinks some of my ideas suck. Even the one of putting Fieldturf on the front lawn. I’m not sure why.

  4. The “wacky” one is very similiar to one I saw in my sister’s house while visiting her in Japan. It is a little weird until you get used to it. But, it is very “green” as the water isn’t getting wasted. Since they are popular in Japan, maybe you can have an asian themed powder room. =)

  5. I really like the wacky one! I’m moving in to a new place with the exact water closet situation as you (except no window!) and I think I might buy this after we move it. What a perfect solution and I think it actually looks good too! Thanks so much for the tip!!!

Leave a comment