Simple & delicious oatmeal cookie recipe

I don’t normally post about food because those of you that know me know that I don’t cook much.  That is N’s part of the relationship.  I decorate, clean and organize.  And of course, eat and enjoy food.  Even though I don’t cook, I occasionally DO bake.

This recipe doesn’t come out like traditional oatmeal cookies.  Instead, they’re almost like a fruit bread.  (Think banana nut…without the bananas or nuts.)  Hard to imagine that, right?  Hahah.

Anyways, I think this recipe is really good as-is, but also could be quite good as a base to begin “improving” upon it.  Here you go:

Ingredients:

1/3 cup butter, softened
2/3 cup packed brown sugar
1/2 teaspoon ground cinnamon
1/4 teaspoon baking soda
1 egg
1/2 cup applesauce
1 1/4 cups all-purpose flour
1 1/4 cups rolled oats

Directions:

  1. In bowl beat butter till creamy. Add brown sugar, cinnamon, and baking soda. Stir until combined. Mix in applesauce and egg. Add flour, a little at a time. Stir in oats.
  2. Drop dough onto ungreased cookie sheets. Bake at 375 degrees F (190 degrees C) for 8 to 10 minutes or until lightly browned. Enjoy!

One thought on “Simple & delicious oatmeal cookie recipe

Leave a comment