Iron (Antique) Bed Love, Part 2

Well, I guess by the title you know which choice we made for our master bedroom!  Although we liked the quality of Charles Rogers’ beds, we didn’t really like any of their king size styles.  (Definitely have to give them props for making quality beds with iron & real brass versus aluminum and painted brass finish like the competition though!)  So that just left one last option — hunting for an antique bed frame that we could convert to a king size…and someone to do it.  After a lot of digging I discovered that there aren’t that many people who are willing to take on the trouble to convert an antique bed.  Who knew?!  My search only turned up just a couple of people across the nation!  The perfect choice for us was Hobnail Antique Beds in Pawling, NY.


Look at all those gorgeous antique beds!  I had a wonderful afternoon with the owner, Jerry.  In the two hours I was there chatting with him and choosing the perfect bed for us, I was extremely impressed with the quality of the finished product and thrilled to meet someone who took so much pride in his craftsmanship.  Jerry strips, cuts, welds, and paints the beds himself.  I got to look at some of the beds he was currently working on and as well as a few he’d just finished and his craftsmanship was beautiful.  You couldn’t even tell these beds hadn’t always been a queen/king size.  Also, he made some beds for a few famous folk, including Cyndi Lauper and Kevin Bacon.

Anyways, without further ado, here’s the bed that we chose.  It’s actually two twin beds that are going to be put together to become a king! ( Sorry about the terrible quality of the photos.  I forgot my normal camera and was using the iphone.)

Here’s a closer up version of what the bed looks like.  There is a brass bar on the headboard and footboard.  One of the big reasons we liked it, was the simple style of the castings…and how close together the bars are — which is good for making sure your pillows don’t fall back behind the headboard!  (Some people like to read in bed, y’know!)

Jerry was kind enough to pose with my new beds…and in about a month they’ll be done!  I can’t wait!!!!

So if you’re looking for a quality iron bed that’s converted to your modern-day queen or king size, I can’t recommend Hobnail Antique Beds enough.  (Oh, and his prices are competitive with new beds…what more info do you need?!)

10 thoughts on “Iron (Antique) Bed Love, Part 2

  1. Love your post! Do you know of any shops like this in the Chicagoland area? Been searching for matching twin iron beds (headboards especially) for a bedroom makeover. Thanks!

  2. Hi there, i’ve bought several beds from Jerry over the years. I just tried to call and the number wasn’t working. Do you happen to have another number? Thanks!

  3. Hey there! My name is Anthony, and I bought an antique bed from Jerry years ago. I’m looking to convert it (full) into a queen. I can’t seem to get ahold of Jerry through email, and the business number is not working. Do you have a cell phone number for him, or any other information as to how to contact him? Thanks!

    1. Anthony-I think Jerry’s phone is not in service at the moment, but I just stopped by there today, and he’s working. I’m afraid I don’t have cell number to give you.

    2. Anthony-I just saw Jerry today when I went over to check on the bed he’s working on for me (the third one!)-It sounds like his phone is out of service at the moment; I didn’t take the opportunity to get an alternate number when he offered it to me, because I just pop in there when I need to. He is definitely still working, and would probably be very happy for the work

  4. I have bought several beds from Jerry at Hobnail; in fact, he is working on one for me at this moment. He really does a great job and I can’t reccommend him enough, if one is looking for an iron bed.

Leave a Reply

