Fireplace Mantle redecorating inspiration

This weekend we re-arranged the furniture & art in the living room.  It feels SO much better.  I’m not sure why it took me so long to do it because I’ve hated the way I’d initially laid out the room from the beginning.  (I was probably stuck doing other projects.)  Anyways…the one thing I haven’t had the energy to tackle is my weird fireplace facade and ugly mantle.  I’m still not going to tackle it at the moment since it involves demolition and I’m in the throes of doing that in the half-bathroom.  So I thought I’d just redecorate the mantle.  Here are my inspiration pics.

We’re probably going with the last idea because the mantle itself is kinda wonky and might not hold anything really heavy.  Plus we collect postcards from all of our travels.  It could be a good way to show them off.

(Lastly, I wish I could give photo credit for these, but I only know two of them.  The red sofa is from the Wallpaper Projects by Derek Fagerstrom and Lauren Smith.  The last photo is from an old issue of Domino.  I’ve had the others saved in my inspiration file for ages.)

2 thoughts on “Fireplace Mantle redecorating inspiration

  1. I’m a lover of real wood burning fireplaces, however I have a gas fireplace that came with the new home I purchased. My family room is in the basement & is always very chilly, especially in the winter. I bought this thinking it would look a little fake but may help take off the chill and to my surprise, it heats my HUGE family room (ten foot ceilings) and I’m floored that this cute little stove warms the entire room! I have to say with all honesty, the flames look real and I’m pretty picky! I did a lot of research before making this purchase, looked at many different vendors and heard this manufacturer was the best and this product was highly rated. I love it and I think you will too

Leave a Reply

