A new project begins: The powder room

First let me explain something.  My house has a full bath (upstairs) and an old servants “bathroom” downstairs that is actually only a closet with a toilet in it.  NO SINK.  And unfortunately there is no room to expand on either side (it’s blocked in by a stairwell and an exterior brick wall).  Anyways, this weekend I decided I would tackle the half bath by peeling the wallpaper.  It had been painted over several times, so I thought this was going to be difficult…but not so.   (Meanwhile, keep in mind it’s hard to photograph since it’s so small.)

A general idea of what I’m working with.

Here’s what the old wallpaper looked like when I started peeling.

Progress made.  I ended up peeling a lot of wallpaper in no time!  However as I began to keep peeling I realized that the exterior wall was covered by a weird 50’s wallboard that was super soft and not worth painting over.  So I poked a small hole…and then the next thing you know I’d torn all the wall board down and discovered an old exterior doorway that gave me an extra 8″ in depth where I’d be able to create built-in shelves!!  In a space this small…every centimeter counts!

Wow!!  I was thrilled to have found an old doorway!  At the bottom of the pic is the old baseboard.  I’m so thrilled!!  Now I have to either sheetrock or use beadboard to close it in.  (Oh, and install some foam insulation.)  I can’t wait to get you the after pics soon.

Lastly, I did some digging online and found the perfect sink for my teensy little powder room.  It’s only 8″ deep! If you have a teeny, tiny space and are looking for a sink, I can’t recommend this one enough.  It’s from the Whitehaus Jem collection and is so cute in person.  Vintage Tub & Bath had the cheapest price on it, plus free shipping.

10 thoughts on “A new project begins: The powder room

    1. Yes, that’s exactly what I’m saying. I mean…I knew there used to be a doorway there because the neighbors all have the same door to their old servant’s WC, however I had no idea it wasn’t bricked over / filled up / something?! I just didn’t expect to find so much space. But it was a great moment.

    1. Yeah, I looked at that toilet cistern thing, and even though I know that it’s good for the environment…I can’t help but be creeped out by it a little bit. The idea of me hovering over the toilet to wash my hands is not only awkward, but also pokes at my pseudo-hypochondria a little. 🙂

  1. How come I never start peeling wallpaper and just happen to find a door???? How cool is that? Oh wait….I guess I have found door frames hidden in walls…but an actual door with hardware….lucky!

Leave a Reply

