House Tour of Huron, South Dakota

I have no reason to not have been posting on the blog since the return from my vacation (other than I got engaged and have been seriously preoccupied!), so I do apologize for my lack of attention to this space.    I honestly can’t promise that it’s going to get better either…but I did take a lot of great photos of the houses of Huron, South Dakota while I was there.   I love looking at houses…and I hope you do too.

This one looks like the Brady house, no?   “Marsha! Marsha! Marsha!!”

This house needs a paint job, no?

They’ve turned this beautiful old Victorian into a museum.

Note the little tiny church in the front yard of this house.  Weird, right?

For such a small town, there was a shocking amount of variety here.  Anyways…I found it rather enjoyable checking out their houses while I was visiting.  Oh, and Mt Rushmore, the Black Hills, and the Badlands were all great too!

12 thoughts on “House Tour of Huron, South Dakota

  1. the small church is rad. I wonder if it’s just a statue-like thing or if it’s really a small building sheltering say…the family dog. now that would be weirdo weird!
    Ha, I’ve only just noticed the butterflies on the front facade…

  2. This reminds me that I’ve yet to post the pictures I took of my neighborhood! The third house from the bottom has some similarities to one style around here (although here, they are twins, not singles). I love the second to last one above, though. The rooflines, the red window and door trim, and especially those tiny, leafless trees below the windows!

    Congrats on your engagement!

  3. Thanks Vicki! It’s been very exciting to suddenly be engaged….and has taken up a surprising amount of time and energy. I never knew that searching for a location to get married would involve so much time & effort!! Places are booked up well into next year already. Gasp!

    Anyways…hopefully soon I’ll be back full speed ahead on this blog. Haha.

  4. Sharon, I believe the small church was actually just for decoration. It didn’t seem to be able to house any animal. I’d understand it more if it did!

  5. Congratulations!

    These photos are great. Everything looks kind of green… Did you see the Virgin Suicides? Reminds me of that movie.

  6. That’s a super collection of photos! Very hard to pick a favorite but the last one is very charming. Like you I take photos of houses wherever I go. I feel bad (sorta!) – I rarely take photos of friends and focus on houses instead.

    Liz

  7. Congratulations on the engagement!! I had to quick scroll back through other posts to make sure this JUST happened or I had missed it before! I know it’s easier said than done but take some time to just enjoy being engaged before you go down the rabbit hole of wedding planning😉

  8. After being displaced due to an apartment building on 1/17/12, and unable to pull full-time hours at work (I work for a hotel), I’ve seriously been considering a move to SD. It’s a state I’ve always been drawn to. Huron, Chamberlain and Aberdeen are my three final choices of places to move to. Where I live now has an eclectic mix of houses just like Huron. I love these photos. Especially the capturing of all those trees which seem to make these snapshots come together. Makes me want to move their today and buy a house their tomorrow. Thanks for the posting.

Leave a Reply

