White Stains on the Coffee Table Be Gone!

Several months ago, my lovely boyfriend put a hot porcelain teapot & tea cup down on our teak mid-century coffee table, and the result was heart-crushing white “burn” marks.

He didn’t realize what was going to happen by that hot teapot, but nevertheless I was soooo upset!  I tried several different things to get the marks off to no avail.  I was mentally preparing myself for having to sand down the whole thing and re-do the top.

However, while visiting my family in GA this past week, I flipped through an old issue of Ready-Made magazine and they mentioned that an iron + cotton towel could solve all my white burn mark woes!

Lo, and behold they were RIGHT!  After holding the hot [dry] iron on each stain for only about a minute, the marks were gone!!

I’m beyond thrilled right now!  I feel as if I accomplished something really big tonight!  Haha.  I hope someone else out there has this same problem, and I make your night just the way that Ready-Made made mine!

24 thoughts on “White Stains on the Coffee Table Be Gone!

  1. This really does work! I had a work table that I hadn’t cared about keeping in good condition, until I decided to make it the kitchen table. It was completely covered in water marks. I used a sheet of wax paper, a DRY dish cloth and an iron (no steam!). I don’t know if the wax paper is necessary, that’s just the tip I read. It comes out in a minute and it doesn’t hurt the finish at all.

  2. Wow thanks for the tip! The same thing happened to our old table when we put lasagna on top of white paper plates. I”m planning on selling the table so I will definitely have to use this trick first!

  3. I have a stain on my dining room table from a plate that was too hot – I’m going to use your trick this afternoon! Thanks so much – I thought I was going to have to get used to the ugly white mark.

  4. This is the first time I’ve heard this tip…After trying (ugh) mayonnaise. It didn’t work. I’m going to give it a go on my kitchen table for two white burn marks, one is rather large. Fingers crossed.

  5. After a dinner party, a casserole pot, a woeful heat mat and my parent’s beautiful wooden table met I had a huge white heat mark, and a freak-out.

    Calming down, I searched the net and found your and other similar recommendations. However, it was your before and after shots that gave me the confidence to try it out. Result: one unmarked dining table and one happy son.

    Thanks.

    1. That’s awesome! I’m glad you found my little spot on the internet. Apparently this happens to a lot of people…so I’m very glad I posted about it. ha! 🙂

  6. Thank you so much, have literally just used this method to get a white stain out of my brand new coffee table and it looks good as new!!!!!

  7. OMG you are a genius, thank you for posting this. I was about to start crying when I placed the hot cake form on my gorgeous table on top of a kitchen towel. I stupidly thought the kitchen towel would protect the table, but it left a big white spot. Until I found you!!!!! my table is new again!! thank you again!!

  8. Thought this would NEVER work since that’s how the spot got there to begin with!!! I tried that and guess what IT WORKS like a charm!! No more white spot!!!!

  9. My bf was ironing his shirts on the table with a cotton towel and it caused white marks. I was attempting to find a solution and this is all I’ve come across yet it’s what caused the problem with our table. Any suggestions?

  10. Thanks for sharing! I just did this tonight on my MILs coffee table and it worked like a charm! It also removed a water ring that was near by! Whew that was a close one!

Leave a Reply

