The art of packaging (and coffee)

One of the things I’ve been talking about lately at work is the art of packaging.  The subtle (and sometimes not so subtle) exterior of the product itself that attracts us to it visually and compels us to purchase it…as opposed to all those other items on the shelves.   Sometimes the packaging itself is better than the product inside.  Personally I’m attracted to fabulous packaging like a mosquito loves stagnant pond water (good analogy, eh?), so this topic isn’t something necessarily new.  But tonight the conversation was sparked due to a new purchase.  Coffee.

Yes.  Coffee.  My love of the latino brands of coffee began with my obsession of the 50 cent espressos from the corner bodega near his apartment in Jersey City.  They’re not just good, they’re AMAZING!  And so, we began to explore those other brands of coffee.  I’ve never been one to drink Maxwell House or Folgers anyways.  (And don’t even get me started on how much I hate Starbucks coffee.  It tastes kind of over-roasted.)

Anyways…so we tried Cafe Bustelo first.  It’s delish!  And since I really can’t find it anymore at our local store, I went around to another supermarket and found El Pico.  Also delish!  Anyways….the reason we tried them is because we loved their packaging.  It makes me happy whenever I go to the grocery store and get one of the cheapest cans of coffee, in one of the best looking containers, and it tastes soooo good! 🙂

Oh, and in general, I have a thing for great tins.  So it’s not like the coffee cans are a new thing.  Here’s a smattering of some of my collection of vintage tins.  These are pretty cool too.

How do you guys feel about packaging?  Does it suck you in too?  Do you feel the same way I do about tin containers?  (ie. I hate throwing them out. )

One thought on “The art of packaging (and coffee)

  1. I am right there with you on that one!Beautiful Packaging that can be re-used are so much more fun(can you tell am a fanatic) than these disposable cartons, plastics etc etc that brands tend to use today

Leave a Reply

