OMG…I’ve got renovation fatigue!

I don’t know quite what to say about the renovation work on my house these days.  I’ve got a bathroom that’s still not finished, a guest room that needs wall repair and painting, front windows that need fixing, floors that need sealing, paint that needs removing, curtains that need sewing…and the list goes on.  You name it, and I need to work on it.

Oh my goodness, I think I’m hyperventilating…  (And those are just the projects that I’ve STARTED.  I’m not even going to discuss the ones I haven’t started yet.)

For those of you that live in an old house and are doing renovations, have you ever gotten to that point where you just want to throw your hands up in the air and give up?  Well, I kind of feel that way this weekend.  There is just sooo much to do! Everyday I read all the design blogs and see everyone talking about all the cute things they’re doing in their house, and I look around at the ton of work still left undone… and just feel frustrated.  My expectation of myself is that I should be able to make things look perfect.   I expect perfection of myself and my house.  And so…right now I’m frustrated.

I can’t be the only one out there that’s going through this.  Are any of you feeling the same way?

14 thoughts on “OMG…I’ve got renovation fatigue!

  1. every. single. day. for the past X years. (I won’t fill in the number lest I depress you more.) An upswing will come again soon.

    …returning to lurk mode…

  2. First time posting here…

    Yes. Well we don’t live in an old house, but it was a foreclosure that needed tons of TLC. We’ve been renovating non-stop since May and actually took a 3 week break recently. We went on vacation for a week and then just enjoyed the next two weekends renovation free. Now we’re back on track, but I recommend taking a week or two off.

  3. Thanks Kim & Casamacho. I knew when I got this house that I had to go full steam until I lost the energy needed. (My neighbors would ask me “How are you managing to do so much on the house?” I’d respond with, “I’ve got to go until I run out of steam.”) So I got the kitchen done and got the bathroom 80% there, but let’s face it…I hired someone to do the major work on the kitchen & bath. And now I find myself with a ton of other open projects undone. Ugh.

    Deep breaths. Deeeeep breaths.

    On the bright side, several weekends ago I managed to redo the inside of my closet slightly so that all my winter clothes fit inside it. And yesterday I painted a third coat of paint on the guest room ceiling. Today I did three loads of laundry.

    Baby steps from here on out. Baby steps. (We’ll see how long that lasts before I come up with 10 more projects to drive myself crazy with.)

  4. I feel that way every second day or so. I’ve got ‘finished’ rooms that aren’t really finished…paint touch-ups need to be done, small cracks need to be filled. But at least they’re prtty and livable. I find mixing up small, quick & easy projects with the longer term ones makes things manageable. And it feels good to get things (even small things) knocked off the list🙂

  5. I had that experience on Sunday so I decided to stop complaining and go to the store and do something about it. Only none of the stores I visited had what I was looking for so I felt even more forlorn. A girl can’t win. 🙂

  6. I stopped making lists. I think it’s just frustrating and makes the procrastination syndrom even worse. Just enjoy the ride and be proud of all the things you’ve already done. Doing one little thing everyday can also help (instead of trying to tackle a big project over the weekend). And the biggest rule is: complete your current project(s) before you start a new one.

  7. Renogirl: Yeah, I definitely need to learn that lesson about starting new projects. But I swear that I won’t be starting any MORE projects until these are done! haha.

  8. Leah, I read your blog often and you are my inspiration! I feel that way all the time with my old junker of a house and it is your muses on your household adventures that get me back on the horse. Buck up and get back to it🙂

  9. I felt like that all the time in our old house. I actually missed the charm of it until now looking back. I drive by it all the time remembering the “good times.” My husband reminds me that I actually was quite bitchy during those “good times.”

  10. I just found your blog the other day, so I apologize for commenting on a 2 year old post. I know what that’s like to be overwhelmed with your house. I haven’t had as much steam as I thought I was going to have when we bought the house and I fell like I should have far more done at this point. I suppose haveing some money would help too. I’ll be happy (probably not) when we have at least one completely done room. Anyway, I love your style- it’s more like me own than most blogs. I can’t wait to see what you do with your apartment!

    1. No problem!! Glad you found my little corner of the world. I’m trying to get much better about posting on it, but work has been taking so much time these days. I know how the money thing is. OY! We need to sell our house in Philly something fierce!

Leave a Reply

