Be still my mid-century modern heart: Classic Century Dinnerware @ Crate & Barrel

I’ve never experienced anything quite like the surreal pleasure of walking around a store with a little gun and pointing it at things I like, pushing a button, and having those things magically appear on a list that I then direct people to, to buy the things on that list for me (!). This unique mixture of joy and guilt can only happen when registering for wedding gifts. Lucky for me, I worked through the guilt and general strangeness of this process just before I spied my dream everyday dinnerware at C&B:

Classic Century is Crate & Barrel’s repro of the mid-century modern Town And Country design by *the* Eva Zeisel. I’ve always been a fan of Redwing Dinnerware, and while my wallet has prevented me from collecting any Town and Country pieces, this collection very closely echoes the lines and the organic modern feel of my only, slightly less collectible but much loved, Redwing set – the 1955 Futura “Tampico” pattern.

Plus, unlike the originals, these everyday pieces are oven- and microwave-proof. Finally, timeless classics I can actually put on my dinner table, not just in the china cabinet. At $63 for a 5-piece place setting, they’re definitely not cheap, but hey, you’re buying them for me, right? Thanks!

Check ’em out here.

2 thoughts on “Be still my mid-century modern heart: Classic Century Dinnerware @ Crate & Barrel

  1. OMG, thanks for this fabulous find. I’ve been looking for flatware to compliment our MCM abode and i think i’ve just struck gold! Thanks for the fab tip lomoa.

Leave a Reply

