One day, I dream of a little tiny modern house in the woods…

May 29, 2011 at 10:19 am 2 comments

Nick and I often daydream about our little cabin in the woods that we’d love to own someday.  I’m not sure how this obsession started necessarily, but it grew over time with vacations to places like Eagles Mere, PA; Jackson Hole, WY; Maine; Hudson, NY;  and Bear Mountain.  The little modern pre-fab that we want to build has yet to be fully fleshed out in terms of what it we’d like to build or even where we’d like to build it.  But I know that one day…we’ll figure out the how, when, and budget.  This nebulous style of cabin that we’d like to live in is what I loosely refer to the style as “modern rustic.”  I am telling you all this because today I found some beautiful inspiration of what may be close to perfect.

Source: marieclairemaison.com via Leah on Pinterest

Source: marieclairemaison.com via Leah on Pinterest

Source: marieclairemaison.com via Leah on Pinterest

 

Isn’t this little cabin to die for?! I mean, we’d probably need to modify a few things. Such as where is the bathroom? I’d want a real fireplace vs a wood-burning stove, and perhaps a slightly larger kitchen and deck. But otherwise, I love it’s tiny footprint. It remindds me of another one of my favorite little houses, the Shot Trot via Hometta.  This one is designed for warmer climates, but again…perhaps could be modified for mountain retreats.

Source: google.com via Leah on Pinterest

 

Does anyone have any other inspiration that you’d like to shared? I’m sure that I’ll be collecting images of my dream modern/rustic cabin for quite a long time before we’ll ever get to build one! :-)

Entry filed under: Architecture, inspiration. Tags: .

Upholstery Project Update + Living Room Mood Board under construction*

2 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Ben  |  May 30, 2011 at 7:58 am

    this has long been a dream of mine, too… i like the work of the olson kundig architecture firm (for example, see their Gulf Islands Cabin.

    Reply
  • 2. sell a house in Rosedale  |  January 9, 2012 at 2:45 am

    Living in a modern house and that too in the middle of the woods. Wow! what an idea. i really wish i could atleast spend my vacation over there. One of my friend have a house in such a condition. the whole house is built in wooden interiours and that too in the midst of a small forest like land. i really love being there.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Calendar

May 2011
M T W T F S S
« Mar    
 1
2345678
9101112131415
16171819202122
23242526272829
3031  

Most Recent Posts


Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

