Domino Magazine to stop publication?!

November 14, 2008 at 7:24 pm 6 comments

Apartment Therapy just posted about an article featured in the New York Observer talking about the dire straits that many home decorating magazines are finding themselves in these days.   Obviously it was a shock to many that magazines like House & Garden and Blueprint shut down, however it was just announced the other day that O at Home is going to close as well.  Now apparently rumor has it that Domino could be next.

WHAT?!  I said…WHAT?!  That’s one of my favorite magazines!  I’d feel lost without it.  Of course, lately I’ve been thinking a fair amount about the future of magazines.  They’re one of the things that many home bloggers love to look at and talk about, but are we helping to contribute to their demise?  Sites like Design*Sponge, Decor8 and Apartment Therapy deliver fresh content 5-7 days a week.  Are we overloading ourselves with too much decorating?

At any rate, I love both magazines and decorating blogs.  I mean, I have to look at them both for a living, and of course…have my own little home blog in this giant blogosphere.  Anyways…The NY Observer actually refers to Architectural DIgest as the Vogue of shelter magazines….which I completely disagree with.  I honestly wouldn’t mind that magazine disappearing forever.  But that’s just my personal opinion.  But with all these magazines potentially going under what is your favorite magazine that you couldn’t do without?    Let me hear from you: 

Note:  I left out the overseas publications like Living, Etc. and World of Interiors.  I love them too, but I’m thinking specifically about the American ones since they seem to be the ones that are closing their doors.

Entry filed under: inspiration. Tags: , .

Hot or Not? Monogram Wreath Change the Thought

6 Comments Add your own

  • 1. House Obsession  |  November 17, 2008 at 11:07 pm

    Wow! It definitely seems like most of you like Domino by an overwhelming margin. I certainly hope (for all our sakes) that it doesn’t shut it’s doors!! What would we do?

    Reply
  • 2. alis  |  November 21, 2008 at 4:41 am

    What’s wrong with me that I really dislike Domino? I can’t wait til my subscription is over. Magazines I like are Living Etc, Marie Claire Maison, World of Interiors, Country Living(British edition), Italian and British Elle Decor..

    Reply
  • 3. House Obsession  |  November 21, 2008 at 8:50 am

    Nothing is wrong with you Alis. I agree that many of the European magazines are superior in certain ways. Their feature imagery is usually better. World of Interiors cannot be beat in it’s editorials and the creativity it shows in each issue.

    But for showing great product that’s available in America, I think Domino is the winner. I also like that it features alot of attainable ideas.

    But hey, to each his own.

    Reply
  • 4. Paul Murphy  |  January 30, 2009 at 8:00 am

    I have to say i get all my inspiration online these days. With great blogs like this one and AP online who needs print?

    I also found a great free online interiors magazine http://www.largom.com , It’s a great resource as they publish features on self building as well as interiors and design!

    Reply
  • 5. theparisapartment  |  February 3, 2009 at 10:08 pm

    wow amazing! great poll!

    Reply
  • 6. petunia  |  February 3, 2009 at 11:52 pm

    I have posted a poll on my blog as have others around the blogging world in an attempt to capture the level of interest in keeping Domino magazine as, at a minimum, an online entity. If you could please let your readers know they can vote for several options and that that information will be forwarded onto Conda Nast, I would truly appreciate it!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Calendar

November 2008
M T W T F S S
« Oct   Dec »
 12
3456789
10111213141516
17181920212223
24252627282930

Most Recent Posts


Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

