Archive for October 8, 2008

For the love of a Southern Craftsman

Last week, I got the chance to go back home to Georgia for almost a week to visit my family and friends.  It’s always nice to see them of course, but the time I spend there never seems like enough and inevitably I feel guilty for being an only child that lives so far away.  When these thoughts come upon me, I begin to think thoughts like, “If I moved back home, what kind of house would I live in?”  And for a few moments, I allow myself to revel in the idea of finally getting to own/live-in my favorite style of house…the American Craftsman.

These four are just a few of my hometown favorites.  The first one is my particular preference (even though it’s in a sad state at the moment b/c it’s been a rental for the last several years) because I LOVE the huge front porch.  A friend growing up used to live in a very similar house, and it was phenomenal on the inside.  The details…the layout…the enormous space.  My dream is to one day own a craftsman just like it.  Hopefully it will be on a really quiet street where I can enjoy sitting outside on my porch in the afternoons.

The rest of these are fabulous too.  I’d gladly take any one of them.  I don’t know what it is about a house with a porch, but I realized not that long ago that every house I’ve ever owned has had a porch.  (This is my third.)  I don’t know what it is about them…  Maybe it’s my Southern roots showing it’s colors.

But for now…I live in Philadelphia.  I’ll just keep these images in my inspiration file in case one day…things change.

October 8, 2008 at 11:04 pm 8 comments

OMG…I’m stuck in a WHITE box and can’t get out!

Hey guys…sorry I haven’t been able to post anything lately.  I’ve literally NOT been at home for the last 2.5 weeks.  Two weddings and now a photo shoot in NYC (hence the white box).  But I promise to try and download some pics from my trip to GA and post something soon.

October 8, 2008 at 6:46 pm 2 comments


Calendar

October 2008
M T W T F S S
« Sep   Nov »
 12345
6789101112
13141516171819
20212223242526
2728293031  

Posts by Month

Posts by Category


Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.