Sewing slipcovers: It can’t be THAT hard, right?!

March 10, 2008 at 11:14 pm 9 comments

I’m currently taking sewing classes, and so far have learned to make a pillow. Not too extraordinary I realize, but I have BIG plans. Once I get settled in the new house (and have a room to dedicate to crafting), I think I’m going to set up a little sewing space to make pillows & bags to sell on Etsy. The other big project is that I want to learn how to sew slipcovers for my furniture. I’m going to start small with a really ugly ottoman (that’s covered in stains). It’s perfect size & weight so I don’t throw it away, but I hide it whenever people come over. Therefore this weekend I went to J0-Mar and bought some cheap-o $1/yd fabric to practice sewing for it. (I don’t know WHAT I was thinking in buying that faux Laura Ashley chintz. I had a momentary brain fart while looking through so many bolts of fabric.)

me with scrap fabric

Just to be clear…the brown & pink fabric is for my first attempt at a handbag. I have plenty of leftover stuff though…and since I’m such a newbie at sewing it’s nice that this fabric cost so little!!

Oh yeah…does anyone of you have any experience sewing slipcovers?  I found this guide online… but would appreciate anyone’s input.

Entry filed under: Projects. Tags: , , , .

How fabulous would this look in my bathroom? Art Star Craft Bazaar: Now taking applications for 2008

9 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Angie  |  March 11, 2008 at 4:22 pm

    while I grew up seeing my mom make slipcovers almost every week (dad works in upholstery, mom helped him out in the workshop, so did I) the only thing I can come up with, is definitely use bias if you can… and measure, measure, measure! :-) Specially when starting with the more complicated pieces.

    You could also re-upholster the ottoman, it’s actually one of the easiest pieces to do…all you need is tumbtacks and perhaps replace the filling if the stains got in there too (if not cleaned, it does get moldy so that’s why I’d replace the filling)…anyway, the ottoman should be perfect to start with for sewing. Just make sure it isn’t too tight.

    I LOOOOVE sewing! Can’t wait to see your results… have lots of fun!

    Reply
  • 2. thedailydish  |  March 12, 2008 at 12:20 pm

    You will be so proud of me! I bought my very first sewing machine last night and I cannot WAIT TO USE IT!!!! YAY!! Wish me luck. PS: Love that fab fabric you are holding in the pic.

    Reply
  • 3. houseobsession  |  March 12, 2008 at 12:33 pm

    Thanks!!! Head over to Jo-Mar (behind the Target on Del Ave) to buy some. It’s only $1 a yard!!!!! There was a ton left this weekend.

    Reply
  • 4. thedailydish  |  March 13, 2008 at 2:50 pm

    THANKS!! We went by there yesterday & I never realized HOW FREAKING MUCH FABRIC they have. WOW. The velvet was gorgeous. If only my sewing skillz were up to it. One day…

    Reply
  • 5. George  |  March 17, 2008 at 5:29 pm

    Sewing is great! People use to take care of activities like sewing in the home, and now we outsource it to vendors due to lack of time, and lack of effort. Good for you for taking it up!

    Reply
  • 6. Terri  |  January 3, 2009 at 2:19 pm

    Hi–Just wondering how the slipcover experiment turned out. I’m thinking of tackling a similar project and am looking for advice. Thanks!

    Reply
  • 7. houseobsession  |  January 3, 2009 at 7:59 pm

    Hi Terri,
    I haven’t really sewn any slipcovers since this particular project. I’ve worked on curtains and various other things…but not slipcovers. Perhaps it’s one of the things I’ll tackle in 2009.

    Reply
  • 8. houseobsession  |  January 3, 2009 at 8:01 pm

    Oh wait…I didn’t even realize what post this was. Yes, I made a slipcover for an ottoman that I have. Here’s the post: http://houseobsession.wordpress.com/2008/09/06/working-hardon-lots-of-little-projects/

    Reply
  • 9. Roberta  |  August 13, 2009 at 10:59 am

    My Dad taught himself upholstery, slipcovers and drapery. He was one of the best in New Orleans for over 50 years. But he was not a good teacher. But I learned a lot about sewing just from watching him. I am now planing to try my hand at slipcovers. I am so glad I stumbled across your web site. I am looking foward to beginning this new phase of my life. I’ll be celebrating my 68th birthday in a couple of weeks.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Calendar

March 2008
M T W T F S S
« Feb   Apr »
 12
3456789
10111213141516
17181920212223
24252627282930
31  

Most Recent Posts


Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

